EC notifies schedule for ZPTC/MPTC elections in Telangana


State Election Commissioner Nagi Reddy has released the notification for local body elections. The elections for 538 ZPTCs and 5,817 MPTCs will be held in three phases, he said.

“The first phase will be on May 6, second phase on May 10 and the third phase on May 14 for ZPTC and MPTC polls. Vote counting will be held on May 27,” said Reddy.

Meanwhile, Telangana chief minister K Chandrashekhar Rao has initiated exercise to identify winning horses for the local body elections. TRS working president KT Rama Rao has assured the party cadres that sincere and committed leaders will be accommodated in the local body elections.

ZP territorial constituency members will elect ZP chairman. On the lines of Lok Sabha mission Target-16, TRS wants to bag 33 ZP chairmen posts. However, the selection of ZP chairman candidates has become a cumbersome practice for the TRS party. For instance, KCR is still unable to identify the candidates in reserved categories. Moreover, eight districts are reserved for women. Hence, KCR has decided to file former MLAs and defeated party candidates for the ZP chairmen posts said a senior TRS leader.

Chinta Prabhakar, who lost in Sangareddy Assembly election, and former MLA Putta Madhu, who lost in Manthani Assembly, may be fielded as ZP chairmen candidates in their respective districts, further added the leader. Adding to this, former MLAs and MPs are requesting TRS supremo KCR to accept their sons and daughters in the forthcoming local body elections.

Telugu360 is always open for the best and bright journalists. If you are interested in full-time or freelance, email us at