Home Tags Konda Murali as MLC

Konda Murali of TRS wins MLC seat unopposed


In a shocking development to the opposition parties, the ruling TRS won the first MLC in the this round of elections to the local constituencies of Telangana Legislative Council. Warangal TRS candidate and husband of party MLA Konda Surekha won the Warangal Local Bodies Constituency seat. He will be declared elected unopposed as all the candidates in the fray withdrew their nominations. Five independent candidates filed nominations for the seat. Opposition parties, including Congress and BJP-TDP distanced themselves from the election. However, Murali managed the independent candidates to withdraw their nominations as they did not have enough numbers to win the seat. Consequently, Konda Murali, former MLC of united Andhra Pradesh and former president of Warangal district cooperative central bank (DCCB) alone remained in the fray. So, the returning officer many declare Murali as elected unanimously by evening.

Originally, Congress member, Murali and his wife Surekha, joined YS Jagan’s party after the death of YS Rajasekhar Reddy. However, they could not sail with Jagan and differences cropped up between the Jagan and Surekha forcing them leave the party in rupture. Later, they joined TRS before the 2014 elections. TRS, as the ruling party is poised win majority of the seats of 12 seats for which elections are announced, as opposition parties do not have numbers to get the candidates elected. The elections are slated on December 27 for local bodies constituencies of Adilabad, Nizambad, Karimanagar, Medak, Rangareddy, Mahabubnagar, and Nalgonda etc.

Telugu360 is always open for the best and bright journalists. If you are interested in full-time or freelance, email us at Krishna@telugu360.com.



[X] Close
[X] Close