Ram Nath Kovind elected as the 14th President of India


NDA’s Presidential candidate Mr. Ram Nath Kovind is all set to become the 14th President of India as he won 65.65% votes. Mr. Kovind defeated opposition candidate Ms. Meira Kumar with a huge majority. He secured 2930 votes with value of 7,02,044 while she got 1,844 votes with the value of 3,67,314. The election was a cake walk for Mr. Kovind.

Returning officer Mr.Anoop Mishra announced that the NDA candidate got the votes of 522 MPs, while UPA candidate secured 225 votes MPs. In Andhra Pradesh, Mr. Kovind polled 171 votes while Mr. Kumar got none. It was a close competition in Bihar with he securing 130 votes while she got 109.

Mr. Kovind is the first President with the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) background. He who hails from Kanpur is first leader from Uttar Pradesh to become the President. He is second Dalit President after K.R. Narayanan. Mr. Kovind worked as a lawyer for two decades before joining BJP in 1991. He is the first BJP nominated person to become the president.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulating the big win tweeted “Congratulations to Shri Ram Nath Kovind Ji on being elected the President of India! Best wishes for a fruitful & inspiring tenure.” He also acknowledge Ms.Kumar’s participation and said “I also congratulate @meira_kumar Ji for her campaign, which was in spirit of the democratic ethos & values we all are proud of.”

Telugu360 is always open for the best and bright journalists. If you are interested in full-time or freelance, email us at Krishna@telugu360.com