Voting time revised for Nizamabad MP election


The Telangana Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) has revised poll timing for Nizamabad Lok Sabha constituency thanks to the lengthy list of 185 contesting candidates. According to the revised timing, the polling at 1,788 polling stations in Nizamabad Lok Sabha constituency will be held from 8 am till 6 pm on April 11, while normal timing of 7-5 will continue in the remaining polling stations across Telangana. However, polling will be from 7 am till 4 pm at 17 Maoist –affected areas at select polling stations in 13 Assembly segments.

Telangana CEO Rajat Kumar said that decision to revise polling time has been taken after the mock polling. Generally, mock polling would be completed in one hour, but it took extra time as the lengthy list of 185 candidates in the Nizamabad Lok Sabha constituency, said Rajat Kumar.

“So, extra time is given to complete the process. The revising timing at 1,788 polling stations in Nizamabad MP poll will be from 8 am till 6 pm,” further added Rajat Kumar.

In addition to politicians, farmers of turmeric and jowar in large numbers filed nominations for Nizamabad Lok Sabha seat in protest against non-implementation of minimum support price (MSP). Several farmers have demanded the postponement of the elections for Nizamabad seat. However, the Chief Election Commission of India (ECI) didn’t agree to the request and has decided to go ahead with election schedule on April 11.

Sitting MP Kalvakuntla Kavitha, daughter of Telangana chief minister K Chandrashekhar Rao, is contesting in Nizamabad Lok Sabha constituency.

Telugu360 is always open for the best and bright journalists. If you are interested in full-time or freelance, email us at