Separate High Courts for AP and Telangana from Jan 1


The gazette notification for division of the High Court of United AP and Telangana was issued today by the Central government. Separate High Courts will function for the two Telugu States from January 1. The Union Law Ministry issued the gazette allocating 16 judges for Andhra Pradesh and 10 judges for Telangana State.

The division of the united High Court is one of the flash points in the bitter relations between Telangana CM K Chandrasekhara Rao and AP CM N Chandrababu Naidu. Since the residual AP state had no capital city and necessary infrastructure, it could not provide immediate accommodation for the separate High Court. Now there are facilities being created for the same in Amaravati capital city.

The new High Court will function in a temporary accommodation in Amaravati. A permanent building will be built for the same in the Justice City coming up as part of the master plan in capital city. In terms of geographical location, it is going to the 25th High Court in the country. Actually, Telangana High Court should be considered the youngest one as it was Tealangana which was carved out of the united Andhra Pradesh. But the High Court coming up at Amaravati is being considered the latest one since all infrastructure is being developed here anew.

Telugu360 is always open for the best and bright journalists. If you are interested in full-time or freelance, email us at