AP new Chief Justice Jitendra Kumar


The Union Law Ministry has issued orders appointing Jitendra Kumar Maheswari as the new Chief Justice of Andhra Pradesh High Court. He is presently a judge in the Madhya Pradesh High Court. AP Governor Biswabhushan Harichandan will soon administer oath of office to Justice Jitendra Kumar.

Earlier, the Centre did not approve and returned the recommendation of Supreme Court Collegium for appointing Justice Vikramnath as AP Chief Justice. As a result, the Collegium recommended Justice Jitendra Kumar name. The Collegium consisted of Supreme Court Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi, Justice Babde and Justice NV Ramana.
Right now, there are strong indications of Jaganmohan Reddy government to shift AP High Court to Kurnool. However, this has triggered protests from advocates in coastal region. The advocates have even boycotted courts demanding continuation of High Court in Amaravati.

Telugu360 is always open for the best and bright journalists. If you are interested in full-time or freelance, email us at Krishna@telugu360.com.