Deadline for ZPTC/MPTC voter enrollment is Apr 18


Hyderabad: The Election Commission (EC) has set April 18 as deadline for enrollment in voters’ list for ZPTC and MPTC elections. In this regard, a notification will be issued with four days, according to V Nagi Reddy, State Election Commissioner (SEC). The election schedule has been finalised as per the request by Telangana chief minister K Chandrashekhar Rao, who urged the EC to conduct polls before May 23, on which general election results would be declared.

At present, Telangana has 1.57 crore voters in electoral list and the EC has given the list to all the political parties. The elections for ZPTC and MPTC will be held in three phases on May 6, 10 and 14 and notifications will be issued on April 22, 26 and 30 respectively. Election results for ZPTC and MPTC will be announced after declaring Lok Sabha results on May 23.

The EC has convened a meeting with district collectors and police officials on April 18.

The State Election Commissioner has been holding meetings with government officials on organising Zilla Parishad elections in fool-proof manner. The SEC has received ballot boxes supplied by Maharashtra and Karnataka.

“After withdrawals of nominations, ballot papers will be prepared. We’re prepared to handle any unforeseen situation in electoral process. We can handle Nizamabad-type of situation also. Staff for the polling process have been finalised. After review meetings with collectors and Police officials, we’ll finalise polling stations and phases of elections on April 18,” said Reddy.

Telugu360 is always open for the best and bright journalists. If you are interested in full-time or freelance, email us at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here