EC orders repolling in five more booths in Andhra


The Election Commission on Wednesday ordered repolling in five more polling booths in Andhra Pradesh on May 19.

According to State Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Gopal Krishna Dwivedi, the EC after considering the reports submitted by his office and taking into account facts and material circumstances declared as void the polling in five booths in Chandragiri Assembly constituency.

Repolling in these five booths for both Chandragiri Assembly seat and Chittoor (Scheduled Caste) Lok Sabha seat will be held between 7 a.m. and 5 p.m. on May 19.

The EC took the decision on the recommendation by state election authorities. This followed complaint by outgoing MLA from Chandragiri and YSR Congress Party candidate C. Bhaskar Reddy that voters of one particular community were not allowed to cast their votes on April 11.

Earlier, on May 6 repolling was held in five polling booths spread over three districts.

Polling to 175-member Assembly and all 25 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state were held in a single phase on April 11.

Telugu360 is always open for the best and bright journalists. If you are interested in full-time or freelance, email us at