Resentment Brewing Among Andhra IAS Officers


Resentment is brewing among the  IAS officers of Andhra Pradesh  as  Chief minister N Chandrababau Naidu has developed a sort of disliking for AP cadre babus .  Barring a couple of officers, who are about to retire in a couple of months, Naidu is now surrounded either by junior  officers or those officers brought on deputation from  other services or states. In the words of a senior IAS officer, the state now is being run by IRS officers who have come to the state on deputation. There is even a complaint that officers of a particular caste are being encouraged by the state government. As the state is in short supply of  this brand , Naidu’s government is importing them from other states and services, is the talk doing rounds in the corridors of power.  It is the continuation of ‘caste-empowerment’ project  initiated by YS Rajasekhar Reddy when he was chief minister, they allege.

In assigning responsibilities to the officers on deputation cadre rules are brazenly violated  now. In fact, in  a case related to the appointment of cabinet secretary by Mayawati and in another case related to violation of cadre rules in Kolkata High Court, the importance of cadre posts is are clearly defined. But, they are thrown to the winds in Andhra Pradesh.  The general rule is that officers on deputation should not be given cadre-responsibilities. Now, Naidu is appointing  the IRS, and IPS officers to the posts where their duty is to discharge cadre responsibilities. These new officers occupy key positions in IT, Finance, Investment and Infrastructure, CMO etc much to the chagrin of  Andhra Pradesh cadre IAS officers. Many allege that officers, who want to go by the rule book are targeted by chief minister. Naidu is working on the premise that : 1. He is rebuilding the state with an aim to make it occupy number one slot in India 2019 by developing a world class capital city and transforming the state into an investment destination; 2. As he is working hard, every officer should cooperate by listening to him and by giving a nod to whatever he suggests.

According to a senior officer there are two reasons for Naidu’s disillusionment with AP officers: 1. Many of IAS officers are involved closely in the nepotistic activities of YS Rajasekhar Reddy, in implementing the CM’ agenda including scams. So, AP cadre officers can see through the games of CM Naidu if given an opportunity, with their exposure to the investments ; 2. Many officers, following the arrests, CBI cases and prolonged judicial custody in Jaganamohan Reddy‘s assets cases, wary of motives of  chief ministers and may not cooperate with him in implementing the CM’s agenda of making Andhra Pradesh Singapore and allow a couple Singapore Companies join forces  with the local companies, close to the powers that be, to do projects in Amaravati or other locations.

” While YS Rajasekhar Reddy practiced  inclusive humiliation, Naidu’s policy is exclusive humiliation,” remarked a special chief secretary rank officer of state government.

A 1977 batch officer, who fought against the violation of cadre rules in Andhra Pradesh for over two and half decades, said, ” I am not able to figure out whether the AP cadre IAS officers are in spell or scared of Naidu. They are not able to challenge the cadre-rule violation taking place so brazenly in the state,” he told this correspondent.

Naidu  is keeping Andhra cadre IAS officers  at bay as far as possible ever since he took reins in June 2014. If any officer is not amenable he is being shifted to non-focal or ex-cadre posts. All important posts in the key areas of Naidu developmental agenda are being filled with either junior officers or outsiders.  Naidu’s areas of interest are  Urban development (Capital region development authority), Investment & Infrastructure, Power, IT,  Industry etc are handled by officers who are juniors by twelve years to the incumbent chief secretary IYR Krishna Rao of 1979 batch. Most of the officers belonging to the batches between 1980 and 1989 are  persona non gratae in Andhra Pradesh.

The officers who matter now in Andhra Pradessh

1.Dr. M.Venkateswarlu, IPoS (1992), Postmaster General, Kerala as MD of Bhogapuram International Airport Development Authority

2.Metta Rama Rao, IRS (C&CE, Officer on Special Duty (OSD), AP Bhavan, New Delhi
3.Venkaiah Chowdary, IRS Managing director APMDC earlier OSD chief minister.
4.J.Krishna Kishore, IRS (IT:90), Chief Executive Officer, Economic Development Board, Government of Andhra Pradesh.
5.Naresh Penumaka, IRS (C&CE1987), has been posted as Commissioner, Handloom and Textiles and Joint Chief Executive Officer, Khadi & Village Industries Board (KVIB) and Joint Managing Director, A.P. Handicrafts Corporation Limited consequent on his deputation to state of Andhra Pradesh from Ministry of Finance, Government of India.
6.G.S.Phani Kishore, IRS (1992), appointed as Special Secretary to Government, Information Technology, Electronics and Communications Department and Managing Director, A.P. Technology Services (APTS)
7.Adusumilli V Rajamouli, IAS (UP:03) posted Joint Secretary to Chief Minister, Chief Minister’s Office
8.Ch.Venkata Gopinath, (IRS), from Ministry of Finance, Government of India, to Andhra Pradesh Medical Services and Infrastructure Development Corporation
9.Aparna U., IAS (UP:01), as Deputy Chief Executive Officer, A.P. State Skill Development Corporation, Hyderabad
10.Lt. Col M.Ashok Babu, (IC-57838) AOC, at the disposal of Government of Andhra Pradesh on deputation, initially for a period of two years as Officer on Special Duty (OSD), Andhra Pradesh Bhavan, New Delhi.

11.Smt.K.Sandhya Rani, IPoS, at the disposal of Government of Andhra Pradesh on deputation, initially for a period of two years- as Commissioner, School Education.
12.W.V.R.Murthy , IAS (AGMUT:2002) has reported to the Andhra Pradesh Cadre as Managing Director, A.P. State Finance Corporation Limited, Hyderabad.
13.K. Sambasiva Rao, IRTS (1997 is posted as Vice-chairman & Managing Director, A.P. Infrastructure Corporation Limited (INCAP)
14. A.S.P.S. Ravi Prakash, Pondicherry Civil Service (NFG) Officer, Vice Chairman & Managing Director, Girijan Cooperative Corporation, Visakhapatnam.
15.Dr. Arja Srikanth, IRTS (1987) SAG, as Additional Commissioner, Andhra Pradesh Bhavan, New Delhi
16.M. Jagdish Babu, IRS, as Secretary, A.P. State Planning Board
17.Ms. Hema Munnivenkatappa, IAS (1998) Sr. Deputy A.G. (Administration) O/o A.G. (A&E), Andhra Pradesh & Telangana to the state Government of Andhra Pradesh on deputation as Special Secretary, Finance Department. 18.Dr. E. Ramesh Kumar, IAS (MP:99), Vice Chairman & Managing Director, Girijan Cooperative Corporation, Visakhapatnam.

Telugu360 is always open for the best and bright journalists. If you are interested in full-time or freelance, email us at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here