Home Tags Padma Awards

Corona effect: Govt postpones Padma ceremony


The Ministry of Home Affairs has announced that the Padma awards ceremony, which was scheduled for April 3, has now been postponed. The decision has been taken in view of the coronavirus outbreak.

The Ministry said the new date and time of the ceremony will be announced later.

While the WHO has called the coronavirus a ‘pandemic’, India too designated it as a ‘disaster’. The government’s decision was prompted by the fact that the virus is highly contagious and can best be avoided by avoiding social gatherings.

As many as 141 Padma Awards, including four duo cases (in a duo case, the award is counted as one), will be handed over this year. The list comprises seven Padma Vibhushan, 16 Padma Bhushan and 118 Padma Shri Awards.

As many as 33 awardees are women and the list includes 18 persons from foreigners category, NRI, PIO, OCI and 12 posthumous awardees.

Political leaders George Fernandes, Arun Jaitley and Sushma Swaraj will be conferred Padma Vibhushan awards posthumously in the public affairs category while Vishveshateertha Swamiji Sri Pejavara Adhokhaja of Udupi Mutt will be honoured with similar award posthumously in the spiritual category.

Padma Awards — conferred in Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri categories — are among the highest civilian awards given in various disciplines/fields such as art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, and civil service.

Padma Vibhushan is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service, Padma Bhushan for distinguished service of high order, and Padma Shri for distinguished service in any field. The awards are announced on the occasion of the Republic Day every year.

Telugu360 is always open for the best and bright journalists. If you are interested in full-time or freelance, email us at Krishna@telugu360.com.

Padma Vibhushan for Mary Kom, Sindhu gets Padma Bhushan


Boxing great Mary Kom has been conferred the Padma Vibhushan, the country’s second highest civilian award. Olympic silver medallist and badminton World Champion PV Sindhu has been conferred the Padma Bhushan as the names of the Padma awardees were disclosed on Saturday on the eve of the 71st Republic Day.

Indian women’s hockey captain Rani Rampal, women’s football stalwart Oinam Bembem Devi, former cricketer Zaheer Khan, shooter Jitu Rai, former hockey captain and coach MP Ganesh and archer Tarundeep Rai, are among those who have got the Padma Shri award.

Considered one of the most successful amateur boxers of all time, Mary has won gold at the World Championships a record six times. She won bronze in the 2012 London Olympics. In October 2019, she won bronze at the World Championships in Ulan Ude, Russia — her eighth in the competition.

Sindhu became the first Indian to win gold at the World Championships in August 2019 and the second woman in the world to win five medals in the competition. Her silver medal at Rio 2016 was also the first to be won by an Indian woman in any competition.

Telugu360 is always open for the best and bright journalists. If you are interested in full-time or freelance, email us at Krishna@telugu360.com.

Seven from Telangana to receive Padma Shri awards


2017 Padma Awards

As many as seven noted personalities from a host of fields in Telangana are selected for Padma Shri, the fourth highest civilian award in India, which were announced on the occasion of Republic Day. Interestingly, almost all of them down-to-earth personalities, eminent in their own areas.

They are Chandrakant Pithawa (Science & Engineering), Tripuraneni Hanuman Chowdary (Civil Service), Dr. Prof. Aekka Yadagiri Rao (Art-Sculpture), Daripalli Ramaiah (Social Work), Chintakindi Mallesham (Weaving Machine innovation), Mohammed Abdul Waheed (Medicine) and Mohan Reddy Venkatrama Bodanapu (Trade & Industry).

Daripalli ‘Vanajeevi’ Ramaiah, hails from Reddypally village, Khammam district, has dedicated his life to increase the green cover and in the process has been credited with planting one crore trees. The fight of Ramaiah to plant trees was not alone, as his wife Janamma also made significant contribution to tree planting.

Yadagiri Rao, retired as Professor, Department of Sculptor, JNTU, is India’s renowned sculptor, a skillful carver. He is one of the most prominent among the first generation artists of South India

Mallesham, hails from Sarajipet village of Nalgonda district, has invented the ‘Lakshmi Asu machine’ reducing the time taken to weave a sari from four hours to just 90 minutes, freeing up women for more remunerative work. The machine has impacted 60 per cent of the looms that were engaged in weaving at Pochampally.

Hanuman Chowdary, well known social activist and writer, was the founding Chairman and Managing Director of Videsh Sanchar Nigam Limited (VSNL), India’s International Telecommunications Corporation. He founded Centre for Telecommunications Management and Studies (CTMS) in 1989, to wage the intellectual campaign for competition in Indian telecoms. He wrote the draft National Telecom Policy (NTP), as early as in 1989.

Dr. Mohammed Abdul Waheed, currently working as Director, Central Research Institute of Unani Medicine, Hyderabad, published many research papers on Unani medicine. Vitiligo being his topic of interest, enormous contribution is done in this area.

Mohan Reddy is a business executive and engineering manager, who is the founder and managing director of Cyient (formerly Infotech Enterprises). He is also credited with pioneering the computer-aided design/computer-aided manufacturing (CAD/CAM) culture in India, introducing computer systems for design and manufacturing applications as far back as 1982. Mohan is Vice Chairman, NASSCOM and Chairman, Board of Governors, IIT Hyderabad. Mohan also serves as a member of National Council of CII.

Telugu360 is always open for the best and bright journalists. If you are interested in full-time or freelance, email us at Krishna@telugu360.com.



[X] Close
[X] Close